Former India’s Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has passed away at the age of 66 in AIIMS, New Delhi. The former Delhi University student was rushed to the All India Institute of Medical Sciences on 9 August after he complained of breathlessness and restlessness. Jaitley brought a plethora of rare skills in Indian Politics including grooming young politicians and the art of consensus building.

Arun Jaitley was known as the chief troubleshooter of Narendra Modi. Here is the timeline of Arun Jaitley’s Career:

  • 1952: Arun Jaitley was born.
  • 1973: Graduated with Honors in Commerce, BCom from Shri Ram College of Commerce, New Delhi.
  • 1974: Elected as President of the Students Union of Delhi University.
  • 1975: Arrested during Emergency.
  • 1977: Passed his LLB degree from the Faculty of Law, University of Delhi. Appointed President Of Delhi’s ABVP and All India Secretary Of ABVP.
  • 1980: Joined BJP.
  • 1990: Became Additional Solicitor General of India.
  • 1991: Was made National Executive of BJP.
  • 1998: Became member of Indian Delegation to UN Assembly.
  • 1999: Appointed Minister Of State for I&B in Vajpayee-led NDA.
  • 2000: Made Minister Of Law. Became Rajya Sabha MP.
  • 2006: Re-elected as Rajya Sabha member.
  • 2009: Became leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha.
  • 2012: Became Rajya Sabha MP for 3rd time.
  • 2014: Took charge as Minister Of Finance, Corporate Affairs & Defence in Narendra Modi-led government.
  • 2018: Requested for no responsibilities in NDA 2.0. Undergoes Kidney Transplant in AIIMS, New Delhi.
  • 2019: Passed away at the age of 66.

We have aggregated some of the reactions from prominent Indian personalities who gave their best tributes to late Shri Arun Jaitley:

Install manch app

1. The Prime Minister Of India.

2. The President Of India.

3. Jaitley In DU Days.

4. Shashi Tharoor Remembers His College Days.

5. Rajat Sharma, Editor-In-Chief India TV.

6. Virendra Sehwag Remembers Jaitley’s Contribution To Delhi Cricket.

7. Anil Kapoor: A Veteran Bollywood Actor.

8. Amit Shah: The Home Minister Of India.

9. Smriti Irani: Minister Of Textiles.

10. Piyush Goyal: The Railway Minister.

11. Manmohan Singh: Former Prime Minister Of India.

12. Ashwani Kumar: Former Rajya Sabha MP.

13. Mahesh Jethmalani: A Senior Advocate At Bombay Highcourt.

14. Alexandre Ziegler: French Ambassador To India.

15. VVS Laxman: Former Indian Cricketer.

For More Reactions: Download Manch App.